on ENCODE & telivision sets, apes, silence and Dawkins

It is rather an odd title for a blogpost, but I felt like it needed that. Last months were busy months and it really was not that I did not like my readers anymore, but just that it was a busy period with a lot of finishing of projects and things like that.

But in fact I think that an update is needed desperately on this blog. Do not expect new content in this blog, but it will most certainly be about what others have blogged about and about what I have thought about related to existing posts on this blog.

  1. Encode revisited: Last year I blogged about the ENCODE results which showed that presumably a large part of the genome was functional (according to their definition), and I want to point out to an paper that was published in February which tries to debunk the claims the the ENCODE project made. I don’t agree with all of the paper, but that is something which is more suitable to a stand-alone blogpost. 
  2. Similarity between chimps and humans: In the Answers Research Journal (ARJ) a study was published that genomic similarity between chimps and humans is only 70% instead of the 98% to 99% which is assumed by most of the scientific community. Dr. While (YOUNG-earth creationist) has blogged about it. But that’s also more for another blogposts, because I tend to almost agree.. (again)

That were the pieces where I did not completely agree.

  1. On the Colossian Forumreflection article was published by Daniel Camacho who wrote about the virtue of silence based on the works of St. Thomas Aquinas. This article has my recommendations.  
  2. Some time ago a debate was organised between Rowan Williams and Richard Dawkins.The subject of the evening was whether religion has a place in the 21st century. I believe it does, as does Rowan Williams.

Judging Judging

And this is for fun (at least boring fun)

In a few weeks I will have more time to blog, but those posts will still be irregular.

[edited: Dr. While is not an old-earth-creationist, but firmly in the young earth creationists camp.]

2 thoughts on “on ENCODE & telivision sets, apes, silence and Dawkins

Leave a comment